Holy Crap, I Turned THIRTY

So it finally happened, I turned the big 3-0. O. M. G.

Look, I realize this is not some never before done revolutionary thing. And I realize this is something billions, no quadrillions (is that a word?), of people have done before me. But all the same, it’s……well…I’M THIRTY.

Now, I’m not all that upset about it. I mean let’s be real, it’s not like there’s a whole lot I can do about it. But it’s still a big deal. It’s a new chapter in my life, and a chance at a new beginning. Goodbye awkward 20’s! Hello….well actually maybe my 30’s will be awkward too, but that’s besides the point. The point is that I’m opening a new door (or I guess technically time is) and through that door are new possibilities. That is, if I go out and get them.

My goal for my 30th year is to go out and do something that gets me out of the house and into this big, crazy, beautiful, diverse world every week.

I’ve stumbled into a comforting lifestyle. Netflix. Comfy bed. Internet. I probably go out on the town like once every other month, if that. BORING. Albeit comfortable. But life is what you make it, so it’s time for me to break out of the rut and get out into the world and all its glorious happenings.

I won’t be doing this alone, well at least not every week, so allow me to introduce my cast of characters. My inner circle if you will.

Val: My boyfriend of 9 years. He supports me in all my craziness, including when I spent a year traveling about the U.S. as an Adventure Tour Guide. I couldn’t ask for a better man to be by my side.

Tay and Gam: My younger brother and his girlfriend. We work together and hang together. They’re pretty fantastic people.

Brit: My younger sister. She’s got a physical and a mental disability, and is one of the most wonderful (and difficult) people in the world.

Dar: My 4-yr-old half sister. She’s a little delayed, not walking or talking, but dang she’s adorable.

Dad and Bon: My dad and his wife. He works harder than anyone I know, and she is…well, we haven’t always gotten along, but we try to make it work for my dad.

Cali: One of my best friends. Always glamorous, incredibly talented, and reliably silly.

Becks: One of my best friends. Sweetest and silliest person I’ve met in a long time. She has a heart of gold.

A few more things about me that will help you to understand my stories, I help to run Vista Dance Company with Cali. It’s like a weekly stress reliever to dance it out, and I’m so grateful to have incredible dancers who think the dances I choreograph are actually worth dancing. I am a manager at an estate sale company, and a tour guide at a stadium. Oh, and one of the most important things, I live in the most amazing city, Los Angeles. I am a born and raised local. I know, you probably thought we don’t exist anymore. That everyone who lives in LA is from someplace else. Well you’re wrong. (And for the record, Tay, Brit, Cali, Becks, Val, Dar, and my dad were all born and raised here too.)

So here we go on a journey of 30. A year where I plan to take back my adventurous side, and wake up my snoozing dreams. Where I will climb out of my rut, and move forward in life with a rejuvenated soul. Join me if you like because it’s sure to be one hell of a ride.

Let’s take on 52 at 30.

Leave a Reply

